Viterbo University Spring Commencement May 7
Wed, April 27, 2016

April 27, 2016

Contact Kori Salaski at 608-796-3185 or


LA CROSSE, Wis. – Four hundred eighty-two students, 370 undergraduate, 109 graduate, and three associate degree students, will be candidates for graduation at Viterbo University’s spring commencement ceremony at 2 p.m. Saturday, May 7 at the La Crosse Center.

Included in the number of students earning a graduate degree are the first five graduates of Viterbo’s Doctor of Nursing Practice program.

Glena Temple, vice president for academic affairs, will serve as Master of Ceremonies, and Jacob Hart, a management and leadership business major from Marengo, Ill., will give the student address. Kathy Duerwachter ’10, Viterbo director of alumni relations, will give the alumni welcome. Viterbo President Rick Artman will confer the degrees and Kent Handel, chair of the Board of Trustees, will provide congratulatory remarks. Temple and Sara Cook, assistant vice president for academic affairs and associate professor of business, will present the candidates. The diplomas will be awarded by President Artman, Handel, and Liza Ware, associate professor of psychology and chair of the faculty council. Alumni board member Margaret Hammell ’87 will lead the Prayer of St. Francis and Fr. Conrad Targonski, OFM, will give the benediction.

Receiving the title of Professor Emeritus are retiring faculty members Judy Anderson, nursing, Carl Bargabos, nursing, Jan Janiszewski, business, Jean Saladino, music, and Michael Smuksta, history.

A Baccalaureate Mass will be held that morning at 11 a.m. in San Damiano Chapel on the Viterbo campus. Fr. Targonski will preside at the liturgy.

The nursing pinning ceremony will be held at 7 p.m. Friday, May 6 in the Fine Arts Center Main Theatre. The BSN Completion program pinning ceremony will be held at 8:30 a.m. May 7 in the Fine Arts Center Recital Hall. A ceremony in which master’s degree candidates receive their academic hoods will be held at 9:45 a.m. May 7 in the Fine Arts Center Main Theatre.


Share article on: