Viterbo Employees Honored at Rose Awards
Tue, June 18, 2019

Laura Nettles, FSPA, religious studies, was named Viterbo’s 2019 Teacher of the Year at the annual Rose Awards ceremony May 2.

“Sr. Laura is an amazing role model,” wrote a student who nominated her for the award. “She also has a very caring personality and truly wants all of her students to succeed. Sr. Laura is an outstanding teacher and she has made my time at Viterbo an incredible experience.”

Dennis Molstad, physical plant, was named Employee of the Year.

“The things that set Dennis Molstad apart are his attitude, work ethic, and knowledge of the Viterbo campus and systems,” wrote a person who nominated him for the award. “Dennis is always willing to lend a hand in any situation. He shows up early and often leaves late when that is what it takes to get the job done right. He is very talented. In short, Dennis is an amazing Viterbo employee.”

Click for more photos from the event. Others honored at the Rose Awards were:

  • Tina Johns, center for student success and retention, received the Sr. Helen Elsbernd Distinguished Service Award, which is presented to a person who has provided outstanding service to the university for more than 20 years, typically in more than one capacity.
  • Michael Parker, psychology, was presented with the Alec Chiu Award, which is given for exceptional work in fostering and developing scholarly opportunities for both students and faculty.
  • The Center for Student Success and Retention received the Pax et Bonum Award, which is given in recognition of the demonstrating of the Franciscan values of service, respect, hospitality, stewardship, and joy throughout the Viterbo community.
  • Laurie Kessler, education, was presented with the Outstanding Undergraduate Academic Advisor Award for her work with students.
  • Deb Murray, mental health counseling, was presented with the Outstanding Graduate Academic Advisor Award for her work with students.
  • Receiving Servant Leader Awards for outstanding leadership were Christine Hardie, enrollment management, Jacob Hart, student life, Adam Malin, campus safety and security, Emily Pachan, student, and Judy Stafslien, music.
  • Receiving Outstanding Adjunct Professor Awards for their respective schools were Stephen Minnema, Adult Learning and Core Curriculum, Casey Clark, College of Business, Performing Arts, and Leadership, Irene TenEyck – College of Nursing, Health, and Human Behavior, and Gregg Butler, College of Education, Engineering, Letters, and Sciences.

External Link: 

Share article on: