St. Catherine's Medal


The St. Catherine's Medal (SCM) honors students who represent the high ideals of a Catholic college education, including but not limited to Viterbo University's core values of contemplation, hospitality, integrity, stewardship, and service.


Any Viterbo student (graduate or undergraduate) who has not previously received the award is eligible. All Viterbo University faculty, staff, and students are encouraged to submit nominations via the online nomination form link following.


Thanks to the Offices of the Vice President for Academic Affairs and the University Chaplain, students receiving the St. Catherine's Medal will receive a bronze medal inscribed with their name, one year of membership in the Kappa Gamma Pi National Catholic College Graduate Honors Society, and a gift certificate to be used at La Crosse Downtown businesses.


Nominees will be evaluated on the extent to which he or she has met the following criteria.  The complete evaluation rubric can be found at the bottom of the list of criteria.

  • demonstrated dedication to his or her Catholic education,
  • demonstrated leadership,
  • participated in service to Viterbo or the broader community on behalf of Viterbo University,
  • worked to fulfill the Viterbo mission and is a role model within our Franciscan community, and
  • stood their ground against the constraints placed upon them.


Nomination Form, Deadline

Click here to access the nomination form.  The deadline for nominations is Monday, March 4, 2019 at 4 p.m.

An Important Note to Nominators

The SCM Selection Committee relies heavily on the information provided via the nomination forms. Robust nominations that include specific examples of the above listed criteria provide a more complete picture of each nominee and help to select the best candidates. 

Award Presentation Venue Information

The St. Catherine's Medal will be presented at the annual Student Leader Recognition Dinner on April 23, 2018. The student recipients and their nominators will receive invitations to the dinner.


Contact an SCM Selection Committee Member:
Colin Burns-Gilbert, Chair (
Emilio Alvarez (
Margy Frazier (
Jacob Hart (

Kirsten Gabriel (
Lisa Konkel (
David Saunders-Scott (


Past Recipients